Small Things

Every morning I have to take my 2 little dogs out for their morning constitutional and for some reason, they like to wander around in the woods behind our house to do so.  They have plenty of space near the house but that isn’t as intriguing I guess as all of the smells and possible pee and po… well, you know, spots that only the woods offer.

I actually don’t mind it because it gives me a chance to take a soul refreshing moment, a moment when I stop and just look and listen and feel the peace of what’s around me.  Sometimes I don’t even breathe for a moment so I can really feel it.

Some days the sun is streaming in through the trees and fills me warmth and a quiet energy.  Other days, it’s damp and misty and calming like a blanket wrapping around me.  In the midst of all the turmoil of day-to-day living and the burden on my spirit over all of these past years of grief and loss, it is that small moment that gives me that joy and peace that cannot be gotten from any thing or person; the peace that is not “of this world”.

This morning as I was drinking this in again, I realized that it was the small things like this that have helped me to survive and keep moving  forward through all the pain and confusion of grief.  Life was incredibly overwhelming so much of the time, so intense, yet had to be lived.

Through it all, I still believed that life is a gift so finding a way to see that there is still a beauty and a purpose to being here wasn’t easy.  I remember that I found it some days in just putting everything aside and listening to my kids tell jokes and laughing, staring into my little chihuahua’s eyes and seeing the innocence and gentleness of life, sitting on my couch savoring and actually tasting the good English tea that I love to drink which usually goes cold before I get halfway through, knitting instead of cleaning, or going to visit my sister and sitting in her living room chatting with my nieces and nephews, listening and really getting to know them.

When you are hurting, it’s the small things that get you through.  It’s a cliché, I know, but if you “stop and smell the roses” when you are in pain, give yourself that small moment to just be in the moment, it may give you the soul refresher you need to get on for another day.  I hope so.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. living4bliss
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 12:38:17

    When you go through grief, the healing really does begin with the small things. The small things build and before you know it, you find a smile, then a laugh once again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

