Frustration

I went to visit a friend the other day who has suffered a different but very significant kind of loss.  Last April she miraculously survived what is commonly referred to as the “flesh-eating bacteria” illness.  If you haven’t heard of it, it is a powerful bacteria that seems to come out of nowhere and very rapidly attacks the body, destroying muscles and organs, often claiming the lives of its victims within a few days.

My friend was a healthy, vibrant mother of three with a thriving home business one day and a month later woke up to find herself wheelchair bound and still struggling to survive.  You see, although she made it through the initial phase of the illness, it left her hands and lower legs needing to be amputated in order for her to live as they had “died”.  She made the choice to do that so she could stay and still be a mom to her kids.

I tell you this because I see her now struggle with grief.  It comes from a different source but I recognize so much that same sense of losing the life you once knew, not ever being the person you used to be as everything has changed.  I don’t presume to know what she is going through as obviously, it is a completely unique experience.

But the common thread that ran through our conversation was the frustration she feels with having to go through all of this sadness and grief over losing who she once was.  She just wants it to be over with.  How often have we all felt that way?  How I wished that I could have told her the magic date that she would feel ok again; that it would be “x” number of days till she would feel like jumping back into work.  She wants so badly to wake up each day with a sense of purpose.  And all I could do was to empathize with her and reassure her that the day would come.

So, I did my best to encourage her, as I do you, and to share that as icky as it feels, I have learned that the only way to the other side- to that better day, is through…you have to feel it all and let it out.  Don’t hold back, don’t shove it down deep and keep that stiff upper lip- it will only prolong the inevitable.    As for my friend, I will keep visiting her and we’ll keep talking.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I would gladly trade my lessons. . . . « Namaste Consulting Inc.
  2. jenrad-HelpingHimGrieve
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 02:50:03

    You are a good friend, and yes, we all need to release what may be building up. You may find yourself feeling a little bit better afterwards…

    Reply

    • Cindyss
      Feb 03, 2012 @ 16:49:48

      I agree- I liken it a bit to how it feels when you struggle to hold back tears and how physically painful that is. It just feels so much better when you can just let them go. Of course this kind of pain is so much bigger… I finally learned that you just have to let it happen and that it will subside. I find that many are afraid that if they start “letting go”, it will never stop and they will never come back. Subject of another post I think! Thank you for your comment.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Lessons « Namaste Consulting Inc.

Leave a Reply

