Welcome to my Blog

Death and grief come to us all at some point.  It would be pretty hard to escape experiencing some kind of significant loss at some time in your life or at the very least, being close to someone who does, so you will be touched by grief.  In many cases the loss is so intense, such as the loss of a spouse or a child, that grief can be an almost overwhelming heartbreak.  People often search for answers to questions that have no answers, for some way or someone to take away the pain, or maybe just  stay stuck in a world of anger and despair.

I am no stranger to grief.  I know the panic of trying to imagine never seeing my father again, when I was just barely 20 years old and in college, still needing his guidance and shoulder to lean on.  I really lost both parents that year as my mother, though trying her best, was too overwhelmed with her own grief to offer me support.  And years later, there were those moments when I couldn’t catch my breath as the memory of holding my infant daughter in my arms as she died would flood my mind…  These and other losses, as awful and painful as they were, have taught me much about living and dying, love and loss, human nature and how we handle death and grief.

Grief and its roller coaster of emotions is unlike anything you’ve ever experienced before. It needs an outlet.  It needs to be expressed in some way- not the same way for everyone, but some way.  It needs understanding and good information to do what it is supposed to do. It won’t be ignored.  Like everything in nature, it will find a way.  I would like to help you find the best alternatives.

Now, last but by no means least, I am here to talk about HOPE.  Even if you are at the beginning of your grief and feel like you will never be alive again, I can tell you that there is hope for a better day.  I do know that the pain can be unbearable but I also do know that it can get better and that there are a lot of people that are there to help you to find that better day.  So I will be writing about that too.

I invite everyone to share their thoughts, experiences, ideas, encouragement, etc. here.  If you have any questions or topics you’d like me to address, please post them.  You can also contact me privately at griefsupport@roadrunner.com.

As for me, you are welcome to find out more about me in the “About Cindy” section where I elaborate on both my personal and professional experiences.  I hope you will share yours with me.

Cindy Seaward-Salvati

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Grief | eitheory.com

Leave a Reply

